If only I can get to . . . Time flies when your a MOM

I am still in denial that it is March and we are on Spring Break. Depending on where you are, in our school district, we  have approximately 63 more days (weekends included) until the last day of school. What? Really?

Over the last few weeks, time has flown by and although we all survived the frenzy of the holidays, has life really slowed down? I find myself expressing a very familiar sentiment. “If only I can get to next week, the weekend, tomorrow.” What happens when the time frame we’re hoping to make it to shows up? I know, I need to start planning for summer break now before all the camps and summer classes fill up. Ahh, let the frantic cycle begin.

In addition to all the usual craziness, I have Mom Congress to plan for, of which I am nervously excited. Between interviews, meetings, educating myself on pressing issues, keeping up with a blog; it has been, well, crazy. But a good crazy. I am fortunate to have a very supportive husband who jumps in to help, as well as very supportive children. However, given all the excitement, as mom, how are you feeling about the craziness you may be experiencing?

I am guilty of planning way into the future with my own, “If only I can get to . . .,” and toting a packed schedule; but I can say that I’ve gotten pretty good at juggling, figuratively not literally. Keeping our family and the activities in line, swim team, scouts, piano, PTA, work, school, is challenging. I know there are many parents who are reading this that can commiserate. But, what happens when we miss something, forgot to be somewhere? Is it the end of the world?

A very astute Parent Educator explained the delicate balance of family life like this. Consider this juggling metaphor, these activities are bouncy balls, if one falls, it bounces, we recover, toss it back into the mix and move on. As a wise friend would say, “It’s all good!” However, the sphere that represents the family, that is made of glass, fragile, delicate and if it hits the ground, it shatters. The goal, in our day to day juggling, is to keep that precious family sphere airborne, making family the priority and the focal point.

As the inevitable craziness continues to impact our daily lives, remember to take time with family and maybe, give yourself a personal timeout, even if it’s only for 15 minutes.

About Today, Tomorrow & Mom Forever

I am the proud mom of two beautiful, empathetic and highly intelligent children. On a daily basis, they rock my world. My philosophy, as a parent, I have one opportunity to do right by my children. My passion, to provide them with a loving and nurturing environment where compassion, passion and education are the building blocks to life. As parents, we are our children's advocates, therefore, united, we are one voice for our children. I write from the heart coupled with facts and research. Life is short, too short to get caught up in drama. To quote my hero, Eleanor Roosevelt, super mom and advocate: “Do what you feel in your heart to be right- for you'll be criticized anyway. You'll be damned if you do, and damned if you don't.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If only I can get to . . . Time flies when your a MOM

  1. sekt21 says:

    Hey chickie! Add the widget so I can get new posts in my inbox, please!

Leave a Reply

