“Do your thing, and don’t care if they like it.” ~Tina Fey, Actress and Author of Bossypants

I have been a slacker with my blog, (EEK, it’s been 67 days since my last entry). As I like to say, “Life happens.” And that is just what happened, life. Work, kids, mama drama, and well life, etc. all happened. However, in the little down time that I have had, typically late in the evening whereby the creative juices flow at a somewhat snail’s pace, I thought a great deal about what I want to do with this blog. With handy dandy notebook and pen always within arm’s reach, I’ve written down ideas and have been doing research.

I initially started this blog to chronicle my selection and journey to Washington, DC for Parenting Magazine’s Mom Congress Conference on Education and Learning. However, it is time to evolve and breathe life into this blog. I hope to draw from and utilize my passion for public policy, education and motherhood in my writings. My goal for this blog is to inspire and provide a great source of support and strength by sharing personal experiences and relevant research that I have found. There are so many bumps in the road, so many obstacles that we all face as parents. My biggest lesson from Mom Congress, I am not alone in this journey as a parent and we can learn with and from each other, as long as we possess an open mind and an open heart. Parenthood, volunteering, family engagement in education, all of the above, well, simply stated, it is about our children and how we, as parents and citizens, can make learning better, and their futures brighter.

About me . . . I am the proud mom of two beautiful, compassionate, passionate and intelligent children. On a daily basis, they rock my world. My philosophy, as a parent, I have one opportunity to do right by my children; my passion: to provide them with a loving and nurturing environment where compassion, passion and education are the building blocks to life. As parents, we are our children’s advocates.

What you will find, I write from the heart coupled with facts and research. In addition to writing about the ride on the parental rollercoaster, I enjoy doing research to substantiate my writings. This habit comes from my professional writing background and experience. My inspiration? That’s easy, my children and their successes. My motivation? The encouragement and support of family and friends; and oddly enough, the haters, the haters definitely keep me motivated to keep pushing forward in all of my endeavors and like it or not, I am going to be me. I am an educated and dedicated mom and volunteer with passion, not an agenda. What else will you find – my belief, simply stated . . . Life is short, too short to get caught up in drama.

My catch phrase: United, we are one voice for our children. I’d love to hear your input on education, family engagement, the challenges and quirkiness in parenthood.

I want to end with a quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, a super mom and advocate, “Do what you feel in your heart to be right- for you’ll be criticized anyway. You’ll be damned if you do, and damned if you don’t.”

About Today, Tomorrow & Mom Forever

I am the proud mom of two beautiful, empathetic and highly intelligent children. On a daily basis, they rock my world. My philosophy, as a parent, I have one opportunity to do right by my children. My passion, to provide them with a loving and nurturing environment where compassion, passion and education are the building blocks to life. As parents, we are our children's advocates, therefore, united, we are one voice for our children. I write from the heart coupled with facts and research. Life is short, too short to get caught up in drama. To quote my hero, Eleanor Roosevelt, super mom and advocate: “Do what you feel in your heart to be right- for you'll be criticized anyway. You'll be damned if you do, and damned if you don't.”
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

